Posted on

ARE WE MORE THAN JUST FRIENDS?: Teenage Lesson #4

A question, pretty much to ponder about & frequently popping in our heads. Now this is teenage. Very normal to think about the opposite sex. Having flings, crush, crushes, boyfriend`S’ & girlfriend`S’. Often we end up thinking too much & too deeply about such stuff. Something known as `Love’ is all we happen to think about & really care of. Now love is something you don’t have control over. It just happens without any signals or warning. Understandable. In the olden times, it used to be through letters & hiding behind the tree all day long & peeping to get one glimpse of the girl! But nowadays, it’s rather more not so romantic. Like seriously, no ethos at all. Breaking up through texts, even the asking out. All made to do through a machine rather than in person. Where’s the attitude now? The coolness, all gone within seconds of actual confrontation. But here, I’m trying to reach to all those young teens. Guys, you must be like 15 or something. Yes, don’t lie about it. This is one age which is going to decide where you lie in your career field. In the dumps or above all. It’s all in your hands. You must be like she’s talking of being normal & herself is so weird. I’m not. I’m just like you. But I myself after looking at the amazingly high cut-offs in colleges am left shocked. I know myself well. I’ve loved my parents more than anything. And to be honest, whenever I look around myself, girls & guys with their so called soul mates, I too get a little jealous myself. But then I’m like, if someone really loves me & unconditionally, that person would wait for me. Even if it is for the entire life time. Now that is true love. And once you are done with all your studying & clearing exams, the world will be at your doorstep. All the others drooling & wanting to be with you. You won’t even have to over deck yourself or wear expensive things to get attention. Your achievements do it all. Your success is what people would brag about & want to be in your shoes. Trust me guys, it always is that way. I’m not anti love or anything but just saying that there is an age for everything. Your love will too come your way, just wait for the right time & look how things go in your stride. Right now, don’t DTR = Define The Relationship. Just carry on with the way things are working out for you. Infatuation is when you think he’s as sexy as Robert Redford, as smart as Henry Kissinger, as noble as Ralph Nader, as funny as Woody Allen, and as athletic as Jimmy Conners. Love is when you realize that he’s as sexy as Woody Allen, as smart as Jimmy Connors, as funny as Ralph Nader, as athletic as Henry Kissinger and nothing like Robert Redford- but you’ll take him anyway. And this maturity comes, once you attain the age of 20, where you see love as something more than just good looks. I’m a teen & think I know everything. Parents just keep harping & shouting for no reason. At times, they actually do it just to irritate me. Cool. But then when I look at them, they seem perfect to me. I end up questioning myself, what if they would’ve never met, this perfect match would’ve never been there. But they explain that they ended up this way only when they understood the correct meaning of love which is irrelevant to us as of now, being teens. So guys, be friends, enjoy their comfort, presence & the fact they are & will be there. Don’t end up in this puddle & peer pressure of ‘in a rel. tag’. Love is a symbol of eternity. It wipes out all sense of time, destroying all memory of a beginning and all fear of an end. It truly is this way. But for it to be such, you need to grow & not just physically but mentally as well. And this takes time. So go slow, act & allow your age to show you what it has to offer.

Study hard, score well & love will take it’s place, eventually. Till then read, learn & preach. And, I’m always here to help so do share your thoughts & experiences. 🙂

5 responses to “ARE WE MORE THAN JUST FRIENDS?: Teenage Lesson #4

  1. Mondal ⋅

    Frankly I feel that love is a word that has lost its meaning in the recent times. You see a girl for the first time and you are in “love”. I don’t think that is what love is. Also its funny when you see these 13-15 year old girls/guys with their relationship status as “it’s complicated and sh!t” I am left thinking oh crap really? ? 0_o love is a beautiful thing but you have to wait for the right time and it will sure reward you. 🙂 those are my personal views..anyone is free to correct me! 🙂

  2. Michael ⋅

    To Mondal,
    The love that we teenagers feel is just a MERE INFATUATION, we still have to experience LOVE!! LOVE is something powerful n beyond our reach of understanding!! If u really want to understand the meaning of love, ask an OLD COUPLE, who’ve been married more than 40 yrs.!! 🙂

  3. theteensoup ⋅

    Mondal & Michael, I absolutely agree with you. The term love is completely wrongly overlooked by us as teens. Looks is all we care of, which in the true sense of the world is not in the hands of the person by it’s creator. It should be seen as something to wait for & treasure, as it takes it’s term at the right time. I’m glad you guys shred your views & opinions about the same & sure have a good understanding of the subject.

  4. Wow, nice website you have here. I hope you may maintain updating. Regards TJ

Leave a Reply

